Brek Schutten Wins Wynn High Roller For $219,300

Brek Schutten Wins Wynn High Roller For $219,300

The fifth and final high roller occasion of the 2022 Wynn Millions schedule came to its conclusion throughout the early morning hours of Wednesday, Mar. 9. The $15,000 get-in no-limit hold’em event had attracted a total of 43 entries, building a prize pool of $645,000. After a lengthy day of higher-stakes tournament action, Grand Rapids, MI-primarily based ICU nurse Brek Schutten emerged victorious with the title and the top prize of $219,300.

This was the second-largest score of Schutten’s career, behind only the $1,261,095 he earned as the champion of final year’s World Poker Tour Seminole Challenging Rock Poker Showdown $three,500 get-in principal occasion. He now has much more than $2.1 million in lifetime reside tournament earnings to his name.

In addition to the title and the income, Schutten also scored 360 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was his second POY-certified score of 2022, putting him just outdoors the top 200 in the all round standings. He climbed significantly higher in the “PokerGO Tour“: points race, with the 219 PGT points he secured becoming sufficient to move him into 22nd spot on that high-stakes-centric leaderboard.

The prime seven finishers produced the cash in this occasion. The income bubble burst thanks to a massive 3-way all-in. Jake Schindler was at risk for the main pot with AHeart SuitQDiamond Suit, whilst Barry Hutter was also all-in holding ASpade SuitAClub Suit. Dragana Mackelprang, who made a deep run in the 2021 Globe Series of Poker primary occasion (65th – $95,700) had both opponents covered with KSpade SuitKClub Suit. The pocket aces held for Hutter and Schindler was knocked out in eighth location, even though Mackelprang was left on fumes. She was eliminated quickly soon after that when her A-three ran into the pocket jacks of Schutten, earning $25,800 as the seventh-place finisher.

Dan Smith got all-in with pocket tens facing the AHeart Suit10Heart Suit of Schutten. The flop came down JSpade Suit9Heart Suit8Heart Suit to give Schutten a monster draw. The sixClub Suit on the turn kept Smith ahead, but the KHeart Suit river completed Schutten’s flush to send Smith packing in sixth place ($38,700). Smith now has just shy of $38.3 million in profession tournament earnings, which is good for sixth spot on the all-time money list.

Schutten continued to roll thanks to a preflop coinflip against Hutter. His pocket queens beat out Hutter’s A-K suited right after an eight-higher runout to narrow the field to four. Hutter, a bracelet winner with far more than $7.three million in prior earnings, took house $51,600 for his fifth-place showing.

Cary Katz was the next to fall, with his JHeart Suit9Heart Suit failing to outrun the KSpade SuiteightClub Suit of large blind Sergio Aido. Katz was awarded $70,950, which saw him surpass $34.2 million in lifetime earnings. He remains in tenth spot on poker’s all-time earnings leaderboard.

In spite of scoring that knockout, Aido ultimately followed Katz to the rail. His 10Diamond Suit8Diamond Suit was dominated by the JHeart Suit10Heart Suit of Stanley Tang when the chips went in, and Tang made a flush on the turn to seal Aido’s fate. The Spanish poker pro was awarded $96,750 as the third-spot finisher, growing his lifetime total to almost $12.9 million.

With that Schutten took two,525,000 into heads-up play against Tang, who sat with 1,775,000. Schutten extended that lead initially, only to have Tang score a important double to close the gap. Shcutten was when again in a position to stretch his advantage, and in the end held more than a six:1 chip lead by the time the final hand was dealt. Schutten moved all-in with ASpade Suit4Club Suit and Tang named with KSpade Suit7Spade Suit. The board ran out ADiamond SuitJHeart Suit2Diamond SuitfourDiamond Suit2Heart Suit and Tang was sent to the rail with $141,900 for his runner-up showing.

Location Player Earnings (USD) POY Points PGT Points
1 Brek Schutten $219,300 360 219
2 Stanley Tang $141,900 300 142
3 Sergio Aido $96,750 240 97
four Cary Katz $70,950 180 71
5 Barry Hutter $51,600 150 52
6 Dan Smith $38,700 120 39
7 Dragana Mackelprang $25,800 90 26

Winner photo credit: PokerGO/Antonio Abrego.

Related Post