Mike Ruter and Samy Dighlawi Win 2021 Globe Series of Poker $1,000 Tag Group Event

Mike Ruter and Samy Dighlawi Win 2021 Globe Series of Poker $1,000 Tag Group Event

The World Series of Poker 1st introduced the $1,000 no-limit hold’em tag group occasion in 2016, 34 years right after ‘mixed doubles’ tournament final held in 1982. The fifth running of the modern day version of this event was held at the 2021 WSOP. A total of 641 teams turned out for the event which kicked off with a exciting and festive atmosphere on Halloween. The healthful turnout constructed a prize pool of $590,490, with the largest share in the end awarded to ‘Team Ruter’. The team was created up of a pair of players from California: Mike Ruter and Samy Dighlawi. They each earned their very first bracelets and their piece of the $113,366 top prize.

An even split of the prize income would result in a $55,683 payday for every single of the champions, which would be the biggest score for either player. The winning team told PokerNews’ reside reporters that they had first attempted their hand at this same occasion in 2019, but have been rapidly eliminated. This time about, they lasted via three full days of action to come away with the title.

The final day started with ‘Team Newman’ in the lead amongst the ten remaining pairs, with ‘Team Ruter’ in third position to begin. A preflop cooler of pocket nines versus pocket kings sent Mike Lutz and Matt Krebs of ‘Team Lutz’ to the rail in 10th location ($six,882). Scott Johnston and Bob Fisher were the next to be eliminated when their top pair of aces with a queen kicker was unable to hold up against the flush and backdoor straight draw of ‘Team Botfeld’. The father-daughter duo of David and Amanda Botfeld hit a club on the river to knock out ‘Team Johnston’ in ninth location ($8,670).

‘Team Erdwurm’ (Zachary Erdwurm and Steven Jones) finished eighth for $14,494, even though Holly Babbitt and Michael Babbitt’s run ended in seventh place ($14,494).

‘Team Ruter’ scored their very first knockout at the final table when Dighlawi’s pocket threes won a race against the ace-king of ‘Team Miner’. Benjamin Miner and Dmitriy Uskach earned $19,226 for their sixth-place showing.

Alfie Adam and Vidur Sethi were the subsequent to fall, with their A-six ran into the A-K suited of Ruter, who flopped trip kings and held from there. ‘Team Adam’ cashed for $25,928.

Michael Newman and Robert Ormont of ‘Team Newman’ began the day with the chip lead, but ultimately hit the rail in fourth place when their KHeart Suit7Heart Suit failed to beat out the 8Spade SuiteightHeart Suit of ‘Team Wolf’, despite an action-packed flop of AClub SuitQHeart SuitJHeart Suit. Two bricks on the turn and river sent ‘Team Newman’ home with $35,542.

Amanda Botfeld, author of A Girl’s Guide To Poker, made it down to the final 3 teams alongside her father, David. She took to Twitter ahead of the final day started to share a household photo of the pair playing together.

‘Team Botfeld’ got the final of their stack in peflop, 3-bet shoving ADiamond Suit-5 offsuit fiveSpade Suit over the open of ‘Team Ruter’s’ Dighlawi, who referred to as with AClub SuitsixHeart Suit. The board brought 4 clubs to give Dighlawi an unbeatable flush heading into the river. ‘Team Botfeld’ was awarded $49,512 for their third-place finish.

Heads-up play was a back-and-forth affair, but a big hand with two pair saw ‘Team Ruter’ take what would be the decisive lead. Tomer Wolf of ‘Team Wolf’ shoved for his last 890,000 with 7Diamond Suit6Heart Suit and Dighlawi referred to as with QDiamond Suit7Club Suit. The board ran out eightClub Suit4Spade SuittwoSpade SuitQClub SuitJDiamond Suit to secure the pot and title for ‘Team Ruter’. Wolf and his teammate David Landell earned $70,074 as the runners-up.

Right here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Location Player Team Earnings
1 Mike Ruter – Samy Dighlawi $113,366
2 Tomer Wolf – David Landell $70,074
3 Amanda Botfeld – David Botfeld $49,512
4 Michael Newman – Robert Ormont $35,542
five Alfie Adam – Vidur Sethi $25,928
6 Benjamin Miner – Dmitriy Uskach $19,226
7 Holly Babbitt – Michael Babbitt $14,494
eight Zachary Erdwurm – Steven Jones $11,114
9 Scott Johnston – Bob Fisher $8,670

Winner photo credit: WSOP / Melissa Haereiti.

Related Post